ASCE Awards


The Kentucky Section of ASCE is currently seeking award nominations for exemplary members of the Section for the 2019 Annual Meeting.  Candidates for these awards are nomination by their fellow ASCE members.  A selection committee will determine the recipients and the awards will be presented at the Section Annual Meeting on October 24, 2019.

To review award categories and nominate a fellow ASCE member, please complete the nomination form HERE and submit to Eric Walls,, by September 27, 2019.


Robert M. Gillim Award

The Robert M. Gillim Foundation of the ASCE Kentucky Section was founded in memory of Mr. Gillim in 1966. Mr. Gillim graduated from the University of Kentucky in 1948 with a degree in Civil Engineering and had a distinguished career in the field.
Mr. Gillim died of cancer at the age of 45. He was a young and popular engineer and his fellow engineers decided to establish a Foundation in his memory. The purpose of the Foundation was to award an annual "Professional Recognition Award" to an outstanding Kentucky Civil Engineer and to issue scholarships to civil engineering students at the Universities of Kentucky and Louisville.
The Foundation was dissolved on October 3, 2003 due to administrative problems. The funds were transferred to the Kentucky Section scholarship program and the Section Awards Committee continues the "Professional Recognition Award" as its Outstanding Civil Engineering award.
2015 - Jonathan Keeling, PE
2014 - Scott Yost, PhD, PE
2013 - Jafar P. Mohson, PhD
2012 - Darrell Herron, PE
2011 - Greg Heitzman, PE
2010 - Linda Bridwell, PE
2009 - Theodore L. Niemann, PE
2008 - Lindell Ormsbee, PhD, PE
2007 - John W. Scott, PE
2006 - No Award Given
2005 - Charles W. Ritchie, PE
2004 - Donn E. Hancher, PhD, PE
2003 - D. Joseph Hagerty, PhD, PE
2002 - David F. Garber, PE
2001 - Charles P. Strehl, PE
2000 - George Blandford, PhD, PE
1999 - Donn E. Hancher, PhD, PE
1998 - Charles D. Wood, PE
1997 - Clyde L. Coe, PE
1996 - Aubrey D. May, PE
1995 - Kenneth W. Dawson, PE
1994 - Alvin Lynn Pope, PE
1993 - No Award Given
1992 - Vincent P. Dmevich, PE
1991 - Frank C. Campbell, PE
1990 - John Clinton Bridwell, PE
1989 - Arthur S. Curtis, Jr., PE
1988 - Clarence S. Roehrig, Jr., PE
1987 - Robert H. Uhl, PE
1986 - J. Ed. Bilby, PE
1985 - Frank B. Wylie, Jr., PE
1984 - William O. Snyder, PE
1983 - Robert B. George, PE
1982 - William B. Drake, PE
1981 - James E. Humphry, PE
1980 - Curtus H. Hannum, PE
1979 - David K. Blyth, PE
1978 - Lowell E. Gregg, PE
1977 - No Award Given
1976 - No Award Given
1975 - Carl S. Kroboth, PE
1974 - Herschel St.Ledger, PE
1973 - Robert R. Dawson
1972 - Floyd F. Schrader, PE
1971 - Craig P. Hazlett, PE
1970 - Dwight H. Bray, PE
1969 - Daniel V. Terrell, PE
1968 - Wallace W. Sanders, PE
1967 - William R. McIntosh, PE

Louisville Branch Distinguished Service Award

  • 2015 - Paul Maron, PE
  • 2014 - Roy Flynn, PE
  • 2013 - Daniel Tegene, PE
  • 2012 - Denise Hettinger, PE
  • 2011 - W. Andrew Gilley, PE
  • 2010 - Chris Keil, PE
  • 2009 - David F. Garber, PE
  • 2008 - Beth Niemann, PE
  • 2007 - Jafar P. Mohsen, PhD
  • 2006 - Tony Harover, PE
  • 2005 - Roddy Williams, PhD, PE

Distinguished Young Engineer Award

  • 2015 - Chou-Yu Yong, PE
  • 2014 - Ryan D. Tinsley, PE
  • 2013 - Emily Groves, EIT
  • 2012 - Ryan D. Tinsley, PE

Distinguished Engineer in Private Practice

  • 2015 - Tiffany Coleman, PE
  • 2014 - Michelle Meehan, PE
  • 2013 - John Keeling, PE
  • 2012 - Tony Hunley, PhD, PE, SE

Distinguished Engineer in Public Sector

  • 2015 - Vicki Coombs, PE & Keith Coombs, PE
  • 2014 - Joshua Rogers, PE
  • 2013 - Saeed Assef, PE

Distinguished Engineer in Education

  • 2015 - W. Mark McGinley, PhD, PE
  • 2014 - George Blandford, PhD
  • 2013 - Bryan Dyer, PE, PLS
  • 2012 - Lindell Ormsbee, PhD, PE

Outstanding Student Organization

  • 2015 - University of Louisville
  • 2014 - University of Kentucky
  • 2013 - University of Louisville
  • 2012 - University of Louisville

Louisville Water Company's Riverbank Filtration Project

2011 Outstanding Civil Engineering Achievement Award

MARCH 31, 2011 - WASHINGTON, D.C. –The American Society of Civil Engineers has honored Louisville Water Company with its 2011 "Outstanding Civil Engineering Achievement Award" for the company's Riverbank Filtration Project. The engineering society presented the award to Louisville Water and its engineering consultant Jordan, Jones & Goulding during a ceremony in Washington, D.C. Thursday evening.
Established in 1960, the award honors projects that best illustrate superior civil engineering skills and represent a significant contribution to civil engineering progress and society. The riverbank filtration project was one of five engineering feats nominated. The other finalists included: the Dallas Cowboys Stadium, the Incheon Bridge Project in the Republic of Korea, the Taum Sauk Upper Reservoir Rebuild Project in Annapolis, Missouri and the Washington Dulles International Airport Main Terminal Station, Washington, D.C.
Louisville Water completed the riverbank filtration project at its B.E. Payne Treatment Plant in December 2010. The project is unique because Louisville Water is the first water utility in the world to combine a gravity tunnel with wells as a source for drinking water.
Riverbank Filtration is a "green supply" using the sand and gravel in the earth as a natural filter. To collect the ground water, Louisville Water designed and constructed a mile-and-half-long tunnel in bedrock, 150 feet below the ground surface and parallel to the Ohio River. Above the tunnel, four wells collect the filtered water then send the water to the tunnel. An above ground pump station pulls the water to the surface to the treatment plant. Louisville Water can pump up to 70 million gallons of water a day with the riverbank filtration project.
Because the water is naturally filtered, it requires less treatment. The process eliminates taste and odor issues, provides an additional barrier for pathogen removal and creates a stable water temperature of around 55-degrees, resulting in fewer main breaks in the distribution system.
"Louisville Water has a 150-year history of innovation that advances the science of drinking water," said Greg Heitzman, President and CEO of Louisville Water. "This honor is another example of our commitment to providing high?quality, safe drinking water. I'm honored to accept this award on behalf of our employees."
This is the second time the American Society of Civil Engineers has honored Louisville Water. The historic Louisville Water Tower is listed as a Civil Engineering Landmark.
Louisville Water provides drinking water to over 850,000 people in Louisville Metro and parts of Bullitt, Oldham, Nelson, Shelby and Spencer Counties. On average, the company supplies 127 million gallons of drinking water each day. In 2010, Louisville Water marked its 150th anniversary. The company started as Kentucky's first public water provider on October 16, 1860.